Call 202.224.3121, Committees Consider Making Our Bill a Law!

School House Rock taught grade school students ever since Generation X about how a bill became a law in Saturday morning cartoons.

Now you can be part of the process by calling 202.224.3121 and entering your zip code to leave a message for your Member of Congress to sponsor HR1341 and your two Senators to sponsor S1660. You do not even need to know their names before you call!

Here are the steps from that old cartoon, and where this measure is in the process.

  1. IDEA, EDUCATION. Within a year of launching, Take Back Our Republic circulated an educational paper on the threat of massive foreign contributions being funneled to political campaigns and held a press conference on the process that was covered as far away as Russia (Sputnik) and the Mideast (Al-Jazeera), which denied there was a problem with foreign influence.
  2. BILLS INTRODUCED. Since then Senators and Members of Congress, in a rare show of bipartisan unity, introduced HR1341 and S1660 to try to stop this process.
  3. ASSIGNED TO COMMITTEE. The bills are assigned to the House Administration Committee and Senate Committee on Rules and Administration. The 30 people who sit on those committees (See list below) take the next step and can send the bill to the full Congress and Senate.
  4. CALL 202.224.3121 for YOUR INPUT. While every member of the House Administration Committee sponsored a similar measure before the election, the bill needs to start over so your calls asking your House Member to sponsor HR1341 and your Senators to sponsor S1660 are crucial. If a Committee Member lives in your state please make an extra effort to reach them, but even if they do not, you can ask any Member to sponsor.
  5. COMMITTEE APPROVAL is the next step.
  7. APPROVAL BY THE OTHER CHAMBER after repeating the process is next.
  8. SIGNATURE BY THE PRESIDENT, or a veto and a 2-3rds override by both Chambers is the final step.

Thank you for being a part of the process!

Here is the state-by-state breakdown of Committee Members


Richard Shelby, Senate, GOP, Statewide, Chair


Dianne Feinstein, Senate, Dem, Statewide

Zoe Lofgren, House, Dem, District 19


Barry Loudermilk, House, GOP, District 11


Dick Durbin, Senate, Dem, Statewide

Rodney Davis, House, GOP, District 13, Vice Chair


Pat Roberts, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Mitch McConnell, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Angus King, Senate, Dem, Statewide


Jamie Raskin, House, Dem, District 8


Amy Klobuchar, Senate, Dem, Statewide, Ranking Member


Gregg Harper, House, GOP, District 3, Chair

Roger Wicker, Senate, GOP, Statewide

Thad Cochran, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Roy Blunt, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Adrian Smith, House, GOP, District 3

Deb Fischer, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Catherine Cortez Masto, Senate, Dem, Statewide

New Mexico

Tom Udall, Senate, Dem, Statewide

New York

Chuck Schumer, Senate, Dem, Statewide

North Carolina

Mark Walker, House, GOP, District 6


Robert Brady, House, Dem, District 1, Ranking


Lamar Alexander, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Ted Cruz, Senate, GOP, Statewide


Patrick Leahy, Senate, Dem, Statewide


Barbara Comstock, House, GOP, District 10

Mark Warner, Senate, Dem, Statewide

West Virginia

Shelley Moore Capito, Senate, GOP, Statewide



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TBOR Logo (white Background)

Take Back Our Republic strive to be the leading organization in promoting a culture in politics where character and ideas are the basis of being elected and every election is financed with transparency, primarily by the people to be represented and not by outside interests. Headquartered in Auburn, AL since 2015, TBOR has strong financial backing, an engaged board, more than 100 volunteer coordinators in 47 states, and a staff who stands by our mission.



Learn about how we're taking back our republic. We'll send periodic updates to your email address.

Something went wrong. Please check your entries and try again.
Scroll to Top